Indonesian Youth Smoking Phenomena

I observe urban lifestyle in Indonesia where there are many youths who smoke casually. I am sure this has happened quite a while, but what astound me is the fact i see more women smoke. This means smoking is now prevalent. Though smoking does not reflect morality, but i get an impression that they try to copy popular culture that usually refers to western culture.

The thing is i have never seen that in countries where western culture is very dominant like Singapore arguably. In this country, smoking is very restricted and i feel that by design they are ostracized perhaps because the state considers it unhealthy. Even in country that set the standard like US, i never see they do it so lightly when they are hanging out. By the way I just watch the videos from web sites and i think the generalization is enough because the value is supposed to be the same. In contrast, in Indonesia whenever they get together they always involve smokes. They do it while dancing and hugging with their friends. Out there, liquor is the norm but not smoke.

I write this because i am basically not comfortable with smokes and living abroad makes me aware of this issue. I will definitely agree any measures taken to alleviate it by states. I am not trying to overly compare Indonesia with those countries mentioned since they have different norms, but for the well-being i believe the value applies globally regardless the society.